top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDee

3 easy tips to make everyday a little better !




~I start my morning with a 5-10 minute meditation~


This practice is so slept on , but for those of us who wake up with a racing mind, some extra time to check in with ourselves is all we need. Deepak Chopra is really good for a meditation that will help you focus on one intention for the day and make that the grounding that you have, My personal favorite is Opal Garden's - Goodmorning sunshine because it ends with a list of positive affirmations that I repeat as I get dressed. It truly does make me feel amazing.


Step one: Collect some morning meditations and put them all in a playlist.


(This doesn't have to be anything you heard before, but if the first 30 seconds don't solicit calmness and good energy then let it go. It also doesn't help to scroll through 20 different three hour long meditations on a frantic morning either so this tip helps a lot )


Step two: Wake up whichever morning (hopefully all) and click on any track in that playlist



Let yourself have the 5, 10, or 15 minutes that you think you don't need to really ask yourself "How am I doing". You give yourself away all day to your friends, lovers, colleagues, and professors and it helps a lot to first check in with yourself.



At lunchtime , I write down five things that I am thankful for in my day.


Some days get harder than others and we shouldn't have to wait to find reasons we appreciate what we have. I also find that this practice gave me an overall more powerful outlook on life by constantly reminding me of what was going well, even if I didn't acknowledge it at first.Sometimes my list say "I am thankful for this cup of water that hydrated me because I was really thirsty all morning" or something like " I am thankful for my grandmother who watched me when she had the time". It is all about acknowledging those small wins of the day that can add up to you feeling a hell of a lot better.

Here I can help:


1. I am thankful for...(something that made you smile)

2.I am thankful for...( eating food that reminded me of home)

3.I am thankful for...(something that you often take for granted)

4.I am thankful for ...( an experience that you never had before)

5. I am thankful for...( a painful revelation that helped you in the end)



In my experience using this list, I realized that sometimes I go crazy and write 15 things I am giving thanks for because its all about YOU and making your days feel more livable.


The 4-7-8 breathing trick.


I am a student and a worker. It is very rarely a time that I will feel uncomfortable and want to excuse myself because I am overwhelmed with life outside of work/class. This trick will help you slow your breathing and center your focus.


Step one: Deep breath in for 4 seconds


Step two : Hold that breath for 7 seconds


Step three : Exhale for 8 seconds




All of these tips are self centering. You have to be the one to call the attention onto yourself so that you can constantly be building that relationships with yourself. You also shouldn't have to wait any amount of time to enjoy a day in your life, time is passing and the time is now.


Let me know how these tips go for you !



A real shot of my floor at the end of my day

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sown

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page