top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDee

All that I got is enough





"Stay at home "

At least that’s what the news tells us

Gen Z was cool

My momma tho,

she’s going bananas

Can’t leave this

Cooped ass apartment 

Because I and she can't afford to be sick and she and I just 

Got health insurance

So I just say

It's not real

Even tho

I’m kinda bored

And nobody is responding right now

They're probably busy

Maybe they're with their families 

Making sure each other is safe


My trip got canceled

Me, In my dorm room

Rushing

3oo miles to these Brooklyn projects


And what exactly we cool about

I don't know 


Don't know nothing no more


don't know what school is 

Or what work will be

Or how many days that the conversations of hallway homies

At  3 and 4 and 5 

Be my lullaby

Circling me back to my childhood 

But can’t escape dreams of being school-bound

bringing me into the future

Plans to study abroad 


Makes me realize how big this apartment really is 

And how small I want to shrink in it

So I just tell her 

It's not real

And that I want to go outside because 

I need some air

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sown

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page